Animals, Creative

2014 Wildlife Photographer Of The Year Finalists

'Shoulder Check' by Henrik Nilsson

The annual Wildlife Photographer of the Year competition, presented by London’s Natural History Museum and BBC, has just recently announced its 50 finalists, chosen from over 41,000 entries. Here are some of the most breathtaking images taken over the last year.

‘Stretching’ by Stephan Tuengler

'Stretching' by Stephan Tuengler

‘Apex Predators’ by Justin Black

'Apex Predators' by Justin Black

‘One Eye On You’ by Mohammad Khorshed

'One Eye On You' by Mohammad Khorshed

‘Flirting Bearded Seal’ by Audun Rikardsen

'Flirting Bearded Seal' by Audun Rikardsen

‘Facebook Update’ by Marsel van Oosten

'Facebook Update' by Marsel van Oosten

‘Australian Sea Lion Pups’ by Michael Patrick O’Neill

'Australian Sea Lion Pups' by Michael Patrick O'Neill

‘Bad Hair Day’ by Gordon Illg

'Bad Hair Day' by Gordon Illg

‘Barracuda Swirl’ by Alexander Mustard

'Barracuda Swirl' by Alexander Mustard

‘Bat Festival’ by João Paulo Krajewski

'Bat Festival' by João Paulo Krajewski

‘Caiman Night’ by Luciano Candisani

'Caiman Night' by Luciano Candisani

‘Dantes Inferno’ by Karen Lunney

'Dantes Inferno' by Karen Lunney

‘Dawn Lift-Off’ by Jack Dykinga

'Dawn Lift-Off' by Jack Dykinga

‘Diamonds’ by Malgorzata Ksiazkiewicz

'Diamonds' by Malgorzata Ksiazkiewicz

‘Feel Safe’ by Juan Carlos Mimó Perez

'Feel Safe' by Juan Carlos Mimó Perez

‘Great Peacock Moth Caterpillar’ by Leela Channer

'Great Peacock Moth Caterpillar' by Leela Channer

‘Heavy Rain’ by Pierluigi Rizzato

'Heavy Rain' by Pierluigi Rizzato

‘Helical’ by Frederic Brioris

'Helical' by Frederic Brioris

‘Hide Away’ by Brittany Fried

'Hide Away' by Brittany Fried

‘Big Mouth’ by Adriana Basques

'Big Mouth' by Adriana Basques

‘Innocents Betrayed’ by Hilary O’Leary

'Innocents Betrayed' by Hilary O'Leary

‘King Penguins and Fur Seals’ by Denise Ippolito

'King Penguins and Fur Seals' by Denise Ippolito

‘Kings into the Dark’ by Stanley Leroux

'Kings into the Dark' by Stanley Leroux

‘Ladybird Spider’ by Carsten Braun

'Ladybird Spider' by Carsten Braun

‘Las Fauces de la Noche’ by Juan Jesus Gonzalez Ahumada

'Las Fauces de la Noche' by Juan Jesus Gonzalez Ahumada

‘Leaping Gentoo Penguin’ by Paul Souders

'Leaping Gentoo Penguin' by Paul Souders

'Moonlight Climber' by Alexander Badyaev

‘Move!’ by Gerry Pearce

'Move!' by Gerry Pearce

‘Old Cloths’ by Claudio Contreras Koob

'Old Cloths' by Claudio Contreras Koob

‘Piraputangus’ by Adriana Basques

'Piraputangus' by Adriana Basques

‘Beechnuts Rhythm’ by Sandra Bartocha

'Beechnuts Rhythm' by Sandra Bartocha

‘Pure Magic’ by Raviprakash S S

'Pure Magic' by Raviprakash S S

‘Red Deer and Cranes’ by Marek Kosinski

'Red Deer and Cranes' by Marek Kosinski

‘Red Kangaroos at Waterhole’ by Theo Allofs

'Red Kangaroos at Waterhole' by Theo Allofs

‘Sea Lions Dreams’ by Christian Vizl

'Sea Lions Dreams' by Christian Vizl

‘Sentry Duty’ by Neil Aldridge

'Sentry Duty' by Neil Aldridge

‘Shoaling Reef Squid’ by Tobias Bernhard

'Shoaling Reef Squid' by Tobias Bernhard

‘Startled by Stargazer’ by Jennifer Jo Stock

'Startled by Stargazer' by Jennifer Jo Stock

‘Shoulder Check’ by Henrik Nilsson

'Shoulder Check' by Henrik Nilsson

‘Too Big But So Tasty’ by Alain Ghignone

'Too Big But So Tasty' by Alain Ghignone

‘View of Tokyo’ by Olivier Puccia

'View of Tokyo' by Olivier Puccia

‘Whats This’ by Peter Mather

'Whats This' by Peter Mather

‘Winter Hares’ by David Tipling

'Winter Hares' by David Tipling

‘Yellow-Necked Mouse’ by Carsten Braun

'Yellow-Necked Mouse' by Carsten Braun

To mark the 50th anniversary of the competition, the public is being given the power to select a “People’s Choice Award” winner. Head over to the competition’s website to vote before September 5th, when voting will be closed. The winner will be revealed in October 2014.

Vote here

Previous ArticleNext Article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.